The Empire Strikes Back Turns 30 – My Fanboyhood Turns 16

25 05 2010

This weekend was filled with Empire Strikes Back tributes, stories, lists, interviews, behind-the-scenes and more. So, being the huge Star Wars fan that I am, I’ve decided to write my own little tribute:

The world has celebrated the 30th anniversary of the best sequel ever – The Empire Strikes Back. 1980 was the year the world was introduced to the wise Yoda, the dashing Lando Calrissian, the puckered scalp of Darth Vader – and of course the mysterious Boba Fett. But, alas, I was not even born to experience all this excitment.

It wasn’t until 1994 that I was introduced to Star Wars. Up until that point I just thought Star Wars was equivalent to Star Trek (I know, a common, and heretical, mistake, to be sure), which I had already shown a dislike for. But my dad took it upon himself to correct the error of my ways and introduce me to the greatest space opera known to man. There had been a TNT Star Wars marathon on TV, which he proceeded to record on our VHS player. Getting home from school one day, the VCR was cued and I saw those scrolling yellow letters for the very first time. The events of Episode IV: A New Hope literally unspooled themselves via gritty tape strips before me. And I was hooked.

My best Han in Carbonite pose at Star Wars in Concert

The next day, at school, I immediately found the group of kids who played with the Star Wars MicroMachines at recess and decided to join their ranks. But they talked about ice planets and cloud cities – what was I missing? I couldn’t wait to get home and continue the adventure. School was over, homework was left undone, dinner left uneaten, as I pressed the recordable VHS tape into the slot and witnessed The Empire Strikes Back for the first time.

I was in the middle of the Cloud City escape when my dad got home from work.

“You started watching it without me?” he said, mock-wounded.

“I just couldn’t wait!” I said, pausing the tape so I wouldn’t miss a single blaster bolt. “But I’ll start it from the beginning if you want to watch it with me!”

So we did. I re-watched pretty much the entire movie, and was delighted to find I loved it just as much the second time around. And I continue to be delighted that I love it just as much the hundredth, even the two-hundredth, time around.

When did you first see The Empire Strikes Back? Share your favorite Empire Strikes Back memory in the comments!

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

